Skip to content

Energy-balls

March 23, 2009

During the race I will eat these homemade energy balls.
This is how I make them:

Grind or chop up a handful or two of organic Gojis, Raisins, Dates, Figs, Apricots (or other berries or dried fruits, choose what you like).
Add ground up or chopped Pumpkin seeds, Sunflower seeds, Sesame see, Cashew nuts or Peanuts. If you keep them cool you can have flaxseeds in them too.

Add some Coconut oil, a little water, Sea salt, Sunwarrior Protein powder, Maca powder and eventually Oatflour to bind.
Flavour with Cacao, Vanilla or Cinnamon.
Use some Berrypowders or Acai powder for extra antioxidants and energy.

Sweeten with Honey or Stevia if you need a little extra sweetness.
Mix into a smooth dough, roll into balls and you´re set.
You can also add some of the excellent tasting greenpowders, such as BoKU. Pure spirulina might work too.

These treats are very filling and packed with energy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Ross permalink
    March 31, 2009 11:01

    Hei Fredrik!
    Good running!. 22nd from 805 is a good start, hope you are pacing yourself.

    I was interested in the composition of the energy balls. Funnily enough I arrived at much the same thing for my first Mountain Marathon back in the late 1980s – a mixture of ground nuts and ground fruit and oil and carob. Main difference to yours was that I cut them into cubes to keep the packing volume down. Some years later I ate too much dried fruit before the start of a 24 h rogaine and had gut ache from two hours in. Since then I have used commercial rubbish, but felt that I haven’t had a good nutritional solution. I might just try your recipe again… but I’ll wait to see what you conclude from it.

    Good luck
    Ross

  2. March 31, 2009 20:49

    Hi Fredrik

    I think we may have to use this recipe in one of our newsletters!

    Coletta

Leave a Reply

