Skip to content

Flat running with 41 090 others

May 18, 2009

 

Photo from last year, when I was 4 minutes faster.

Photo from last year, when I was 4 minutes faster.

The past weekend I ran Göteborgsvarvet, one of the biggest semimarathons in the world with 53593 runners signed up (41091 started and 40523 finished). I think it was my 6th or something and I finished 250th with 1,22,27, but I wasn’t really up for it, especially since I felt I couldn’t beat my PB 1,18,20 from last year. Halfway into the race I had to re-lace my shoes because of pain. Regrettably I ran with brand new shoes which of course is a no-no. Immediatly after the finish I took the shoes off and walked home barefeet with big red blisters on my toes. The best moment from the race was feeling strong and running light on the Avenue, which is Göteborgs’s equivalent to Champs Elyssées. The main swedish running website have some photos from the race here. As always I ran with music (I usually do, even when trail running). Below is my playlist for the race. I guess I will have to make a longer playlist for the upcoming trail marathon race in Bovallstrand this weekend.

I went for a run today, got some sun, some really nice single trails and 2 ticks hitchhiking all the way home. It’s about time to get those TBE vaccine injections. I have become used to always check for ticks during and after the run. Getting TBE (Tick Borne Encephalitis) or Borelia (Lyme disease) is by far the major threat for trail runners in Sweden. 

Playlist for the race

 

Right now – Salena jones

Bambe-lo – Edgard & Ostais

Burguesinha – Seu Jorge

Nights Over Egypt – The Jones Girls

Young Rabbits – Jazz Crusaders 

Coisinha Do Pai – Mariuza 

There was a time – James Brown (verve mix)

ll B.S – Charles Mingus 

Big P – Modern Jazz Group Freiburg 

Jungle – Som Tres 

I’m That Chick – Mariah Carey 

Moustache (Prins Thomas Diskomiks) – Blackjoy 

Aquilas Coisas Todas – Luisito Quintero

Movin (Special Extended Club Remix) – 400 Blows 

Lookin up to you – Michael wycoff

Movin’ On – Ray Camacho 

Love has come around – Donald Byrd 

Change – Donald Byrd

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

