Skip to content

Running as a celebration

June 22, 2009

I have never been a top runner, never elite. I might do fairly decent in some trail races but winning has never been very important for me. When I race I’m doing it mostly for the experience. But what I truly enjoy are my regular trail runs in nature.

I see running as a celebration of health, of nice weather, of natures beauty, and a possibility from being healthy. I guess that’s why I also write about health issues here, cause they are closely linked. 

I fill my runs with as many beautiful trails as possible, trails with nice views, trails with soft, wet and rocky surface. Yesterday in sunset I raced with a hot air ballon. As usual I was alone on the ridge pushing it without resting, making my legs work. Although I have a sore achilles tendonitis – probably from all the running uphill – I couldn’t help myself from pushing it, especially with the ballon hot in my heals.

Multisport top athlete Martin Flinta trail running on Marstrand. Photo: Fredrik Ö

Multisport top athlete Martin Flinta trail running on Marstrand. Photo: Fredrik Ö

 

 

Past friday I hardly couldn’t run because of the pain. Typically the day before went great: 1h20min tough trail running without stopping. So friday instead of making the run “only a run” I chosed to make it a workout session with rocks and logs. For a trail runner it’s always good to have overall strength, not only legs. That’s my tips for today: when you can’t or shouldn’t run you can do something else that your running (or health) can benefit from.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2009 5:28

    Sorry about the tendonitis – hope it gets well soon!

    I feel quite similar about running, for me it is a means to be connected – to my body, to nature, to all things good and living. Maybe that’s why we love the trails so much… But oh yes, it’s fun to be on a chase from while to while, too🙂

    • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
      June 23, 2009 6:22

      “Trail running is da shit!” like a friend texted me after trying it for the first time.

  2. August 16, 2010 12:57

    HAHA…..it’s like mountain biking, but without the bike….

    • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
      August 23, 2010 18:15

      you’re spot on + much less risk for crash related injuries…

Trackbacks

  1. Running naturally « Fredrik Ölmqvist – Blog

Leave a Reply

