Skip to content

Trail runners high

June 29, 2009

 

Steady uphill. Multisport top athletes Jens Thorild and Per Bokvist. Location: New Zealand, Westport area. Photo: Fredrik Ö

Steady uphill. Multisport top athletes Jens Thorild and Per Bokvist. Location: New Zealand, Westport area. Photo: Fredrik Ö

Between my runners highs I pick blueberries and ticks, doing push-ups on the rocks and look at Bambi’s eyes between the trees.

With the current heatwave in Sweden and the mercury passing 30 Celsius (86 F) shirtless running is the coolest way to go. It gives a very basic feeling, down to the essentials: shoes (Inov-8 X-Talon 230 g), low cut socks (Bambu from Newline), airy shorts (Salomon), boxers (Craft Pro Cool), water bottle (with honey, sea salt and a squish of lemon) and sun visor (with sweat band for best sight and my ipod shuffle minimalist hi-fi on the back). 

Pushing narrow single trails with powerful strides, getting into the flow, feeling the rhythm, dancing with light feet. Suddenly there is a movement, an animal crossing the trail in front of me. It’s Bambi who stops 10-15 metres away to check me out, hidden behind the trees. Another magical trail moment. But there are usually plenty of those. The fact that I normally get runners high a few times during my trail runs keeps me coming back for more. 

If I need to rest there are plenty of wonderful blueberries next to the trail. Eating directly after picking gives me an authentic feeling. I often bring a small 1 litre plastic bag to bring some berries home for the breakfast smoothie. It’s a nice way to start the day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jotun permalink
    October 4, 2009 19:16

    This is really nice article. Thank you for sharing 🙂 when i read it, i felt like i was reading about myself. this is the same with me, except the stuff i use while on run.
    Keep running…
    regards J (from Slovakia)

    • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
      October 4, 2009 19:55

      Thanks Jotun, nice to meet fellow passionate trail runners:-) Fredrik

Leave a Reply

