Skip to content

Eating colors

July 9, 2009

I have got bee pollen from this years harvest. It feels good with fresh bee pollen, I was running out of my Manuka bee pollen. Fresh pollen is much softer than pollen that have been frozen. Kurt Söderman of Rolfseruds Biprodukter have even sorted out his pollen in different colors depending from which plants the bees have collected the pollen:
a dark khaki blend comes from White Clover & Rasberry, the one from Current & Gooseberry is yellow, orange and light green. Dandelion is light green (You know how green can be…).

As I have written in earlier posts The Blueberries are here. And it seems to become a good year. Yesterday I picked a kilo or more during the trail run in Änggårdsbergen in Göteborg, where they grow everywhere. Actually blueberry plants are supposed to cover 17 % of Sweden’s surface, which sounds quite amazing, considering it’s remarkable health benefits. Eating them directly from the bush is truly delicious, and energizing.

Yellow is another colour I’m looking out for. My eyes are scanning the ground for the forrest gold: Chanterelles, another reason to hit the trails and consequently run off-trails. Since years I know where to find them. Yesterday I even brought a knife but I couldn’t find any golden chanterelles.

Summer is Green time. Getting leaves in the face running on narrow single trails. I wonder which greens I can eat? I would like to bring a bunch of greens home in my running pack and make green smoothies. I Am drinking my greens every day, mostly green powders like Vitamineral Green and Greener Grasses from HealthForce, topped with Spirulina or Green Magma (barley grass powder). Since I started with drinking green powders 10-15 of my friends have also started with the daily green powder drinks. Very simple and tasty is to mix the green powder with some apple juice, or almost any kind of juice.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2009 11:34

    Sounds great, thinking in colors, and to aim for as many colors as possible throughout the day will get you far.

    I’m curious about bee pollen, but know very little. Could you maybe lead me to a good web page about it’s health effects?

    • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
      July 13, 2009 8:11

      Mainly I like the idea of using bee pollen as a good source in the overall aim to give my body complete nutrition, which I believe is the way to go for staying strong and healthy. Here is page I found: http://www.bee-pollen-health.com

  2. July 13, 2009 19:08

    Thanks a lot, I’ll check it out!🙂

Leave a Reply

