Skip to content

Blueberry Super Smoothie

July 15, 2009

It’s berry season and I go picking berries almost everyday.
I can’t get enough berries for my super smoothies. Here is one of my favourites I use to make after a cross-fit workout session in the forrest where I use logs and rocks. (See the old post “Trail running fitness”)

Frozen blueberries
Hemp Protein Powder (Manitoba Harvest)
Acai powder from Superfruit
Sunwarrior Activated Barley powder
Sunwarrior Raw Vegan Protein powder
HealthForce Maca powder
HealthForce Vitamineral Green
Bee pollen
Oats
Pumpkin seeds
Sunflower seeds
Water

Unfortunately I couldn’t run the Ladonia Mountain Trophy past weekend due to some inflammation in the foot. I haven’t been able to run for almost a week and I’m actually getting a bit concerned since I have a big race next weekend, the 6000D.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 12:24

    Wow, that’s what I call a big race! Will you be running the 110 or 55 K option? Amazing!! I sincerely hope your foot is going to be fine until then. Hopefully, the extra recovery will just do you good.

    BTW, do you order your super foods directly from the suppliers in the provided links or is there an on-line shop for all you would suggest? I’m particularly interested in the raw vegan protein.

    • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
      July 15, 2009 12:32

      Hej Fredrika, I’m supposed to run the 110 K, but I might change it for the shorter one since I haven’t been able to run much lately.
      About Sunwarrior Protein powder: yes I got it directly from them. You can also try to find Hemp Protein Powder here: http://www.reidarsson.se/proteinpulver.html

      • July 18, 2009 8:47

        Thanks!

        I am a big fan of Hemp protein (and Reidarssons :-)) already. But I never found a good rice or pea protein in Sweden, which can be nice for a change. Looking forward to try the Sunwarrior. Again, good luck with the race!

      • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
        July 18, 2009 9:04

        The Sunwarrior Raw Vegan Protein (with 85% protein and complete amino-acid profile) was editor’s choice for Best new protein on the No 1 health & superfood website NaturalNews.com. So I guess it’s pretty good. About hemp: I’m testing also the hempnut oil, the hemp butter and the peeled hemp seeds. Getting very green:-) About my left running foot: I got anti-inflammatory diklofenak from the doctor, and eat 3 Medox, 3 Astaxin and 3 Omega-3 capsules daily, to hopefully run next saturday, but I might change to the shorter, 60 K.

      • July 18, 2009 9:44

        What I don’t really get is how they get a complete amino acid profile from just rice, and the misspelling of the aa:s on their web site are slightly alarming… but will investigate🙂 Unfortunately, I’m on vacation and don’t have my food chemistry books at hand to check and compare actual amounts. I also do remember some slightly low levels for some essential aa:s in hemp protein, which are easy to complement (but unfortunately Manitoba won’t exactly brag about that…)

        We also use the hemp butter for “everything”, add some lemon, salt and crushed garlic and you have a fantastic spread. I’m not a big fan of the oil though, since the omega 3/6 ratio is not that favourable (which they also don’t tell you). I stick to raw flaxseed oil instead. (Or virgin olive oil, since I’m half Greek ;))

        So sorry about your foot. Do you know how the injury occurred? I still think the shorter course is absolutely thrilling as well, so hopefully you can run next weekend!!

      • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
        July 18, 2009 12:18

        Thanks for your support Fredrika, and your knowledgeble comments about hemp, aa:s etc. I’m sure my readers appreciate this kind of info and will search for optimal protein sources.

  2. July 18, 2009 8:38

    Fredrik, does the hemp powder dissolve easy in liquid? I am looking for something natural and nutricious to mix with juice after work out. Would this work you think or is a blender required to make it smooth?

    • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
      July 18, 2009 8:58

      I would say the hemp powder dissolves quite easily shaken with water, I just tried it in my “kitchen-lab” and it worked fine. After what I have read on Internet hemp protein powder is among the best natural and nutricious protein powders you can use. This fall there will even be a 70 % protein powder from Manitoba Harvest. And I would also recommend Sunwarrior Raw Vegan Protein made with 85% protein, and it comes in vanilla, chocolate or natural taste. It’s made from sprouted whole grain brown rice with a complete amino acid profile.

  3. July 18, 2009 20:18

    For sure, thanks for all the awesome info!🙂

Leave a Reply

