Skip to content

Back in the trails

July 30, 2009

It feels good running again. Very good. My left foot doesn’t protest. Yet….

Yesterday’s run had sunshine, a squirrel, wet, muddy trails, happy legs, BIG blueberries, birds, push-ups on the rocks, a little mouse, good music and lots of happy trail running feelings. I realize how important trail running is for my general wellbeing.

Allthough we are still in July it feels like autumn has begun. It’s something in the air. The smell of old summer. Mushrooms lurking in the soil. Wet ground from many rainy days. But I’m looking forward – to August 28th and the Ultra Trail de Mont Blanc. Just a few weeks to go, a few weeks to get fit and strong. And mentally prepared for the epic non-stop race around the Mont-Blanc massive.

When I did the race 4 years ago my main object was finishing, which I did in 36 hrs. It was my first really long ultra trail (approx 160 K) so I spent a lot of time resting and eating during the race. I even slept for 20 minutes, which felt VERY VERY good. However it didn’t stop me from seing sleepmonsters (hallucinations from sleep deprivation) at dusk the second morning.

UTMB has become the most prestigous ultra trail in Europe, attracting trail- and ultra runners from all around the world. To entry you need 4 points to qualify. For example La6000D would give 1 point; Marathon des Sables 3; Gore-Tex Transalpine-Run 3; and Gore-Tex Transrockies-Run 2. What I have heard last years winner Kilian Jornet will be back. Last year he created an upset with his minimalist approach. But there are lessons to be learnt from the minimalists. At La6000D the past weekend in La Plagne the majority of runners seemed to carry “heavy” packs, while many fast runners only wore a small waist pack.

This time I take on the Ultra Trail in Chamonix I will go very light – and hopefully fast. My first goal was under 30H, but I think 28H would be possible if I can keep going without stopping too much. This time I will bring superfood like acai & guaraná, bee pollen, maca powder, chia seeds and BoKU Chi. I will tell you more about my choices of euipment further on. Read more about UTMB here.

My pick for fall: The update of Adidas Adizero XT Trail (290g) is truly a great trail running shoe for narrow feet. Superb grip, excellent midfoot fit and soft enough cushioning for all kind of trails.

My pick for fall: The update of Adidas Adizero XT Trail (290g) is truly a great trail running shoe for narrow feet. Superb grip, excellent midfoot fit and soft enough cushioning for all kind of trails.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

