Skip to content

UTMB gear & food

September 2, 2009

I was wearing
Shoes: Salomon Wings S-LAB 2 (315g) (good with quick lace)
Shorts: The North Face (with removed inner)
Underwear: Craft Pro Cool
Socks: Smartwool Phd Running Light
Gaiters: Inov-8 debris gaiter
Top: sleeveless tank from The North Face
Arm warmers: from Moeben
Heaplamp: Petzl Tikka Plus 2 (82 g) (a stronger lamp is recommended)
Hat: Buff
Trekking poles: Black Diamond  Trail (a bit heavy but strong – which proved a very wise choice, since you can’t put any weight on the super thin lightweight poles)

In the pack
Running pack: Inov-8 Race Elite 15 + 2 L Platypus bladder (418 g) (bladder takes time to refill, I would use 2×750 ml bottles next time, easy to access)
Jacket: Montane Featherlite (102 g) (this was a risk, I would have chosen a stronger jacket if the forecast would have been worse)
Gloves: Arcteryx Gothic merino wool
Extra shirt: Craft Pro Zero Extreme T-shirt
Running tights: Pantyhose (cut below knee) (very light, and worked well)
Emergency gear: survival blanket, extra headlamp Petzl e+lite (27 g), extra batteries, adhesive elastic band, energy bar, foot lube, compeed (tot 201 g)

Food
5 Honey Stinger energy and protein bars
3 Superfruit Acai powerbar
20 Endurolytes (mineral tablets)
6 Maxim energy tablets (for emergency use)
6 Acai & Guaraná capsules
4 servings of  a Superfood powder mix (with acai powder from Superfruit, Green Magma barley grass powder, Spirulina, MacaForce and Vitamineral Green from HealthForce)

A few thoughts
I had to stop many times to change clothes due to temperature variations and didn’t have any outer pack pockets for gloves, arm sleeves, jacket etc. A long sleeve shirt that would have kept me warm and not to hot would probably have been more ideal. Food wise I’m not a huge fan of eating bars. I was hungry and dehydrated many times. The food at the checkpoints was welcome. When possible I ate soup, pasta, fruits, cheese and chocolate. Coffee and coke were also welcome treats. Before the race I hesitated to use poles but I’m glad I did, they helped me a lot, especially on the steep climbs and descends. I also brought music (ipod shuffle) which helped me when things were going heavy. In Courmayeur I changed socks and re-applied Sportslick on my feet. I also swithed to a dry t-shirt and dry buff bandana. The legs got a treat of Body Glide Warm fx stick – to help activate muscles and relieve minor pain. For the pain under the knee caps I did some IT-band stretching.

Results UTMB 2009
Kilian Jornet, Spain, 21h33
Sebastien Chaigneau, France, 22h36
Tsuyoshi Kaburaki, Japan, 22h48

Kristin Mühl, USA, 24h56
Elisabeth Hawker, UK, 26h04
Monica Aguilera, Spain, 29h17

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jonas permalink
    September 11, 2009 19:25

    Hej,på bilder & filmklipp från racet så verkar många använda kompressionsskydd för vaderna från Salomon elr Booster. Har du någon erfarenhet av dessa?
    Likaså ser det ut som att många använder “vanliga” löparskor och inte trailskor.

    • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
      September 14, 2009 7:45

      yes , many runners use compression socks in the UTMB, so I guess it works for them. I didn’t use them though. And trail shoes are advisable – especially when it gets slippery. Also parts of the course is quite rocky so you want some protection. I think most runners use trail shoes in the UTMB.

Leave a Reply

