Skip to content

Too old for racing?

September 11, 2009

7687341“Arent’t you getting too old for these extreme races?”

I get this question sometimes. I just got 41, which some people appearently think is a very old age for doing long races. These persons have one thing in common. They don’t do any sports themselves. Instead they have chronic diseases and problems to just function OK in their daily lives. But they appearently think of themselves as great judges for my athletic capacity. I think it’s hilarious. Actually most participants in adventure marathons are in their 40s, often older. Take Marco Olmo who is +60 and still one of the top adventure runners in the world.

Running is actually one of the best ways too stay young. It’s strenghtens the bones; exercise the heart and lungs, and gives me quality of life. Like yesterday’s trail run with sunshine and lots of golden chanterells. The trees are still green but the ground is dotted with yellow leaves. Even though my feet are still numb after the UTMB it felt great running again, after resting almost 2 weeks. My next running adventure will be The Himalaya 100 Mile Stage Race, end of October, with 5 stages, views of 4 of the 5 highest peaks in the world, running on high altitude (4000 m). Sounds fun, doesn’t?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2009 20:52

    Ha! I’m 42 and I just got started. I am absolutely confident I’ll peak in my early fifties.

    Himalaya… oh my god. You do live a crazy but good life🙂

    • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
      September 14, 2009 7:41

      And I’m confident I haven’t peaked when it comes to ultra running. I still want to make a much faster time in the UTMB. There are still many things to be learned. Eating and pacing yourself for example.

  2. September 13, 2009 20:58

    Weird question, is one ever too old for adventure, exercise and challenge? As long as one listens to the needs of the own body, I think you’ll be more than fine!🙂

    • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
      September 14, 2009 7:38

      I think ultra distances scare people. If you never even tried to do a half-marathon race then ultra- and multiday races must seem almost impossible. But once you have tried you know it’s not only possible but beautiful and life expanding. Life becomes bigger. When you start running for joy you never know where you might end up.

Leave a Reply

