Skip to content

25th Marathon des Sables

April 6, 2010

photo credit: cimbaly per MDS 2010

A year ago I participated in the well known multi-day desert marathon Marathon des Sables in southern Morocco. Then two stages were cut out due to floodings and logistical problems. Some runners complained over the shortened race course but not me. During the last stage I suffered an inflammation on the leg just above the foot, probably due to the strain. (After a few days my feet got bigger and I tied the shoes tighter to avoid hitting the toes in the front of the shoes.) I also had stomach problems the last stage and 2nd stage which slowed me substantially. Of course it would be interesting to return for another try sometime. This week some of my running friends from last year are back, trying to make a better performance this time, like Julio Gomez from Seville, currently on 5th place after 3 stages. And I’m also glad to see Jorge Aubeso on 3rd place and strong slovenian mountain runner Anton Vencelj on 8th with 3 stages to go. Ultra phenomenon Marco Olmo (62?) is also still going strong, currently 14th. Last years winner Mohammed Ahansal is currently in the lead, 22 minutes ahead of Jordanian Salameh Al Aqra. Follow the race in the heat on darbaroud.com

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 23:46

    I had a sprain in my ankle last summer at the burning river 100. I hit a river bed a little fast and hard, it felt ok for a 20 miles. But at 70 miles the swelling just got too bad and had to bow out.

Leave a Reply

