Skip to content

Smart foods for the flu season

September 2, 2010

I have been under the ice for a few days. Caughing, sneezing and feeling weak I have been trying to cure myself with healing anti-viral and anti-bacterial foods. Since I started with superfoods and much more conscious eating habits when it comes to nutrition and antioxidants I rarely get ill, and when I do, usually it only last for a day or so. This time is different, with the condition prolonged by lack of sleep, work load and other unexpected activities. However, autumn is here, which means we are facing the season of viral and bacterial attacks. There are lots of potent foods you can use, preferably proactivly, but once you feel the first zing of symptoms you should launch a strong counter attack, without hesitation. Here is a list of my “medicines”:

The usual suspects:
Raw pressed garlic, raw ginger root, grinded horseradish, raw honey, lemon, kiwi…
(with raw I mean, ingested without any preheating, thus no honey in tea, which only would reduce it to a sweetener)

The special forces:
Olive leaf extract, vitamin c (2000 mg capsules from camu camu) propolis, kimchi (probiotics), grape seed extract, black cumin seed oil, oregano oil, nettles (tea)…

Immune systeme defence boosters:
I also take a variety of supplements on a regular basis: Medox (blueberry&black currant), Astaxin (astaxanthin), Omega-3, Vitamin-D drops (except during the sunny season), Green Magma (barley grass powder).

I was about to embarge (thursday Sept 2) on a trip to Slovenia, to cover the Mountain Running World Championship, but decided to cancel the journey. The presence of my contagious condition would only decrease the prerequisites of the two swedish runners, which I was supposed to travel and live with during the weekend. So many times athletes have been contaminated by disease just prior to a big race, while traveling and arriving to the location, meeting new people, shaking hands etc. No, I wasn’t going to let that happen. It wouldn’t be responsable. Instead I wish my fellow mountain runners all the best and hope that hey can avoid other carriers of disease prior the race in Kamnik on sunday, and instead kick some ass!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2010 1:47

    I am noticing I get sick less often when I eat super foods. Our flu season does not start till much later in the year but I am fortifying myself already.
    Hope you are feeling better soon.

    • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
      September 6, 2010 13:34

      Good to hear & thanks, I’m feeling better. I guess I will have reson to return to this subject further on…

Leave a Reply

