Skip to content

Breaking the code of running

October 26, 2010

Imagine that you can truly enjoy running from the first step of your run, and truly feel the beautiful sensation of moving this way. There is no resistance to running whatsoever – quite the opposite. When you get a glimpse of running lightness, the sweet taste of flow, keep the image as a memory! Remember the x-factors, the circumstances of that day, your mindset, your openness and most probably – presence…

Suddenly the sunset glows between the trees like a gigantic bonfire. Ahh… the magic sunset. Time to thank the sun for today’s light and warmth. I speed-up to get a last peek and head up to a peak just in time to see the beautiful goodbye, the beloved sun drowning in the horizon, engulfed by pinkish clouds. Thus it’s the urge to see the sunset that makes me run fast. Standing there, watching the sun dissappear, is a special moment. And just like the Cariocas, the locals, use to do on Ipanema Beach in Rio de Janeiro at sunset I feel like clapping my hands.

So when people ask me “when is your next race?” I tell them that I have a different focus lately, not caring so much about racing but rather running: free, mindful, beautiful, naturally, trying to be aware while I’m running instead of running for something else. My project is about breaking the code of running, and running beautiful – both physically and mentally.

If you really love running you should give it proper attention, just like the one you love. “If you do not give right attention to the one you love, it is a kind of killing.” (from The Heart of the Buddhas Teachings)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 14:21

    I should be reading your posts just before I head out for a run.
    I find that for me, training kills all the joy of running.
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

    • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
      October 28, 2010 9:28

      Thanks Eva! You can focus on the joy of running, your experience and being, and just rejoice about the training benefits of running.

Leave a Reply

