Skip to content

Twilight running

November 2, 2010

The time of day had come for the sun to set. It felt really good. The trail was wet and slippery. Legs were baptized and splattered with sky remains. So far so good.

But not that good, just “fine”. Later on I skip the trail for the “real” terrain. Nature in its most natural suit. Suddenly I feel the soil with my hands. The branches, the slippery logs after daily heavy rains. I tumble, fall, roll and laugh.

But I’m still not there. I’m still in the past or the future. I’m still in my mind. It’s not until I dance with a smile and – HAVING FUN! When it’s all play. Then it’s easier to see the beauty of running. The beauty of everything. The beauty of being. What you can do with running…? What you can feel.
I guess it’s a freedom thing. Letting go of preconceptions. Chosing directions not by habit energy but by presence. And again – HAVING FUN!

Murky trail pythons: the lovely Inov-8 X-Tallon.

There is no hurry. No specific direction. There are trees, some living with leaves in bright and not so bright autumn colors, some dead, burned to coal but still there. The colors in the twilight give their last breath before inhaling the darkness.

The last dance home is a quick-step descending a muddy steep trail with deep pools. And today we’re running straight through, no detours, no cowardish running. Splash! Who said running isn’t fun?Running in cold water – what about that for a running trend? Muddy & Wet Running. Yeah right!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 10:06

    Beautiful writing, Fredrik.
    I am loving running right now : no races in view, no training schedule, just losing myself in the yellow leaves all around.
    What a great time of year!

    • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
      November 4, 2010 18:52

      Thanks Pauline! I’m happy that you enjoy the now. I hope the hunting season is over so you can run more relaxed:-)

Leave a Reply

