Skip to content

Running city guide in Gothenburg

November 2, 2011

During a guided running tour in Gothenburg we might pass the oldest house in town. Photo: Fredrik Ölmqvist

Looking for great runs in Göteborg, Sweden? During a guided city running tour I bring you to some of the nicest parts of town, telling stories about the city’s past and present. I can take you to secret corners, tranquil parks and spectacular view points. If you’re a trail runner I can bring you to beautiful and challenging trails. Göteborg is quite a small city, so if you’re staying at a hotel in the centre of Göteborg we can start and finish the tour on your doorstep.

I’m also a practising running coach, so if you are interested in developing your running skills this is a great opportunity. My personal running philosophy starts with a joyful approach, focusing on feeling and form, rather than performance. I will show how you can use your body better when you run, which will make you a better runner. You will also learn how to avoid running injuries by running in a more careful way. If you’re interested, just contact me by leaving a comment below and I will tell you more.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Hakan Almerfors permalink
    November 2, 2011 15:48

    Fredrik, jag skulle vilja ta flyget imorgon och springa runt på en historisk tur av Göteborg! Härligt koncept, jag kommer till Sverige i juni nästa år, då tar jag med Nadja så får vi prova på. Vi hörs snart!

    Live long and prosper

    Håkan

    • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
      November 2, 2011 16:29

      Muito bom:-) ate logo hermão,
      Fredrik

  2. November 2, 2011 21:40

    igen god info , fred !

    Er bogen kommet ?

    Jacob

  3. Erwin Hanslik permalink
    May 27, 2012 10:17

    Dear Fredrik,

    This sounds interesting. I will be in Göteburg for a conference from June 7 to June 9. I would very much appreciate to make a tour with you on Friday, June 8 from around 6.30 am for approx 1,5 hours (around 15 km). I will stay in a hotel in the centre. Please let me know your thoughts.

    Kind regards

    Erwin

  4. May 29, 2012 14:39

    Fedrik,
    I frequently travel to Goteborg for business and would love to explore some trails. Flyiing into Landvetter it looks like the perfect place to run! Could we hook up or organise something?
    Thanks, Henk, UK

    • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
      May 29, 2012 20:29

      Hello Henk, You are right, you can find excellent trail running in and around Göteborg. I would love to show you some of my favourite trails. Just give me a shout before you come and we can make plans for a trail run together. Best. Fredrik

  5. Erwin permalink
    June 9, 2012 16:18

    Dear Fredrik,

    Thank you very much for your time the other day. I really did enjoy the sightseeing tour! You are not only a great runner, but also a marvellous sightseeing guide!
    All the best,
    Erwin

    • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
      June 17, 2012 6:42

      Hi Erwin, I’m happy that you enjoyed the guided city running tour of my hometown Göteborg. It was a pleasure to run with you and show you some of the most beautiful and interesting parts of Göteborg. Fredrik

  6. Jose permalink
    May 11, 2013 15:29

    Hi Fredrik,

    Your offer sounds really attractive🙂

    I will be in Göteburg for a meeting on next May 29 (arriving on May 28 afternoon and leaving on May 30 afternoon) and I am wondering if it would be possible for you to arrange to take a run together (let’s say 1,5 hours, rythm around 5’/km) either on the arrival day or the departure one.

    In case this didn’t fit on your plans, would you be so kind to recommend me some route? I have read a lot of positive references of Skatas so if you could please confirm these comments I could try to book a hotel close to this location in order to try some of the routes there you may suggest me…

    I am really looking forward to knowing of your thoughts and thank you in advance for your time!

    Best,

    Jose

    • fredrikolmqvist permalink*
      May 16, 2013 22:43

      Hello Jose, it would be a pleasure to take you for a guided city run in Göteborg. Another option is a guided trail run. It’s your choice! Send me an email to fredrik.olmqvist(at)swipnet.se so we can make an agreement. best regards Fredrik

Leave a Reply

