Skip to content

Testing: Tecnica Demon Max, New Balance Leadville 1210 and Scott T2 Kinabalu

January 7, 2013
Pic taken a few weeks ago while running on 2000 m altitude, just below the Teide vulcano on Tenerife. Photo: Leia Adler

A memorable test run from dec 2012 with the Scott Kinabalu’s on 2000 m altitude, just below the Teide vulcano on Tenerife. Photo: Leia Adler

Last week I went out for a evening run with the oversized Tecnica Demon Max,  very protective, lots of stability, and great roll. Great for super ultra trail and epic hikes. However it turned out I had forgot to charge the headlamp’s batteries and had to turn back running on road. Instead of chewing undulating trails in solitude I found myself chasing other runners in the city park – which became a valuable reminder that I need to do more speedwork. By now I had switched to the Scott Kinabalu’s, a great trail shoe with low profile, distinct cushioning, nice roll and good fit. Check out this video about the shoe. Finishing with some functional rehab exercises in the playground area, the run didn’t turn out the way I intended, but I still got to run.

For epic walks and ultra-trailers. Tecnica Demon Max.

For epic walks and ultra-trailers. Tecnica Demon Max.

The other night I went out again, this time with New Balance’s new ultra running shoe Leadville 1210 (293g size 43) and a new favourite shoe for really long runs: very light on the foot, youthful energy return in the toe-off, plenty of cushioning and stability for ultra distance, enabling a comfortable ride, preferably on fairly flat trails.

New Balance Leadville 1210 - a great pick for ultra trails.

New Balance Leadville 1210 – a great pick for ultra trails.

My running kit for the day also consisted of a thin icebreaker merino tee, ashmei longsleeve merino shirt, arcteryx incendo hoody, petzl nao headlamp, ipod shuffle mini, houdini buff, ashmei 2 in 1 shorts (o-la-la… with stretchy merino semi-kompression tights), full leg compression (stay ups) from Compress Sports, drymax trail socks, ultra aspire spry pack vest (which I have been using a lot lately), salomon soft flask (very easy to bring & store) and superthin merino gloves from Icebreaker.

This full leg compression will enable you to run with shorts or skort all year.

This full leg compression will enable you to run with shorts or skort all year.

I was prepared for a long run in the forest, but I once again turned back, after running less than a kilometre into the forest. This time it was the mist. It felt scary not being able to see more than 10 metres. Normally I don’t have any problems with running alone in the forest at night. But this time I couldn’t get out of the woods fast enough. My imagination played tricks on me and made me turn my head around just to make sure nothing or nobody was chasing me. Once again I found myself in the local park, feeling much more at ease. The New Balance Leadville 1210’s made me bounce. The new generation oversized ultra trail shoes will let you run as you wish, with a heelstrike or on the ball of the foot. In either case the rounded underfoot profile will propel you forward with a sense of lightness.

And if you haven’t yet read Scott Jurek’s book “Eat & Run” my advise is that you get a copy and get inspired of his life story becoming a world class ultra runner and vegan. It’s interesting to read also the recipes and running tips. Just like Brendan Brazier, another vegetarian/vegan athlete, Jurek figured out that a plant based died helped him recover mush faster, and feel healthier and stronger.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

