Skip to content

Running here and now

August 5, 2013
Definition of trail running: Celebrating the beauty of moving gracefully in nature.  Photo: Fredrik Ölmqvist

Definition of trail running: Celebrating the beauty of moving gracefully in nature. Photo: Fredrik Ölmqvist

It’s getting afternoon. Past 16 pm and I’m wondering where to run today. The first thought is that the trails around here aren’t tempting enough to trigger the happy runner inside. But then I remember one of those insights running has given me:  don’t worry so much about where but rather direct your focus to how. Then running here and now is enough. Being rather than becoming. Staying in the now, instead of escaping!

After a dry July, the chores of leaves caress my anticipated strides like if it was raining. Where shall I run today? Again the question arises. I guess I want to surprise myself. Those runs usually make me feel alive. Like the other day, when I found an old bicycle in the bushes, overgrown and rosty, but worthy a better future.

I’m reading reports from various ultra- & trail races. Records and fast times. Gold medals and no medals. Ambitions of achievements. Measuring yourself with others. Traveling far and discovering the adventure of running perhaps. Yet it’s so simple. You just need to run here and now, and do it passionately. Run with the sounds, sights and scents of nature.

My pick of gear today include: CompresSport Underwear Compression (with quad compression: great for mountain running), Arcteryx running tank top and shorts, UltraAspire Spry Pack Vest, 2 Salomon Soft Flasks, Canon G15, GoCoco Socks and Montrail Bajada.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

